Admin Guide

Logging into the system after installation

During installation, a service user with the role of "admin" (password Qwerty123) is created in the system with installation permission. The "Remember me" flag allows you to save data entered when logging in in a browser or on a device after entering your login and password.

We recommend changing the user's password before the system is put into use.

Log into the system as a user with the role of "admin."

Trial period

After Test IT is installed, it can be used by 25 users for 30 days. If you purchase a license, all data in the system during that period will be saved. When a user logs in as an administrator, they will see a notification about how much time is left until the end of the trial period.

Admin panel

To go to the Admin section, click on the avatar or the three dots in the upper right corner, then select "Admin" from the pop-up menu.

Users

In the "Users" tab you have access to a list of all users from AD and local users, as well as an "Add" button for adding a local user:

To the left of the search field is a "gear" symbol that allows you to configure the columns that are displayed. Settings are saved for the current browser.

If you mouse over a local user, "Edit" and "Delete" buttons will appear.

The left-hand column with "checkbox" controls allows you to select multiple local users. Next to the checkbox in the header are three dots that allow you to delete the selected users.

The validity of the values that have been entered is checked in the modal window for adding and editing users.

Groups

In the "Groups" tab you can create and edit names and descriptions for local groups, add users to groups and delete them, filter users, and configure columns:

To add users to the current group (the one highlighted in the left-hand column), check the boxes next to the desired users in the right-hand column, then press the button :

To delete users from the current group, select the users you want to delete from the user list in the middle of the screen and press "Delete."

JIRA integration

In the "JIRA integration" tab you can create, edit, and delete Jira links. There is also a button there that can be used to sync all projects that use a given Jira link.

Role editor

In the "Role editor" tab, you can add roles to users and groups:

  • they can be added and displayed in the table using the input field in which user logins or group names are entered

  • roles can be assigned to users and groups by checking their boxes

  • the admin role makes it possible to gain access to all functionality; the user role is required to log into the system in the absence of the admin role; a user cannot log in without a role

  • when a role is unassigned from a user (by double-clicking on their checkbox), their session is automatically terminated, i.e. they will be returned to the system login page

  • a user cannot assign a role to themselves (clicking on the checkbox will lead to an error)

  • if a user is added via AD/LDAP to a group that has permissions in our system, synchronization may take up to 20 minutes.

AD/LDAP

In the "AD/LDAP" tab you can edit the active directory (or LDAP) connection. The tab also contains a button that can be used to force synchronization. Reading and synchronization occurs every ten minutes.

In the AD/LDAP settings, you can specify a user/group scheme to support most services.

On the AD/LDAP connection screen, you can create multiple connections or select a default connection.

The selected default connection will be displayed on the login page as the primary connection.

Loggin in via Open ID Connect

Test IT allows you to sign in using an external provider that supports the Open ID Connect protocol.

To create this kind of connection, set the necessary fields, the base domain of the service we are using to sign in, and an endpoint for receiving the Open ID Connect configuration.

In addition to this, you also need to enter the application ID and secret key you got from the provider. The scopes necessary to obtain information about users from the external system are also required.

Once the provider's Open ID Connect has been added, the option to log in using it will appear on the login page:

A user who signs in using the provider's Open ID Connect will be registered in the system and assigned the role of user as long as free licenses are available.

Licenses

You can add a license key in the "Licenses" tab:

  • To get a key, contact order@testit.software from the mailbox linked to your account on the testit.software website. Enter the server ID in the body or header of the email

  • Copy the server ID by, for example, pressing the button to the right of it

  • Once you have copied the key, paste it into the window that appears when you press the "Add" button

  • To activate the key you have added, press the "Activate" button

Projects

When you click on the logo in the upper left corner, a project list will appear in which you can create a new project and edit an existing one, as well as configure access permissions to it.

There is a "Project manager" role in the role editor. A user with this role has full access to creating, editing, and configuring the project, but cannot access the admin panel.